Board of Education

Board Accepts the 22-23 Auditors Report and Corrective Action Plan



Monthly BOE meetings are held at 7:15 p.m. at the Berlin Middle High School on the third Tuesday of the month (most months – February, April, May and July are exceptions).


The Board of Education is comprised of seven members elected by district residents. All members serve without pay for three year terms. Under the Education Law of New York State, the Board is responsible for the education of students who attend the schools in the district; for the preparation of the annual budget, for district adherence to state law and State Education Department regulations concerning the conduct of the public schools. The Superintendent of Schools is charged with the administration of Board policies.

Monthly BOE meetings are held at 7:15 p.m. at the Berlin Middle High School on the third Tuesday of the month. Please join us. Your voice is important.


Upcoming Board of Education Meetings

Regular Board Meeting 

 February 27, 2024, 7:15 PM

Berlin Middle High School Cafeteria


Please join us. Your voice is important.


Board Members

Andrea Beckwith – 2022 – present – current term – 2022-2025
Kim Collen – 2022 – present – current term – 2022-2025

Derrick Gardner – 2020 – present – current term 2023-2026
Trevor Jewett – 2021 – present – current term 2021-2024
Sherry Bowman-Kluck – 2016 – present – current term 2022-2025
Katie Snyder – 2012 – present – current term 2021-2024
Frank J. Zwack – 1983 – 2001, 2002 – present – current term 2023-2026

*Each term is a three year term which begins July 1, of the year and ends June 30, of the ending term.


Board of Education Committees

Click on the links below for the BOE Committees’ latest news and updates

How To Effectively Communicate With

Berlin School and District Staff

The Berlin Central School District’s Board of Education members, and the BCSD Board of Education as a whole, appreciates hearing from the community. The BOE takes all emails into serious consideration and acts on them together, as a Board. However, the BOE may not necessarily reply directly to all the emails that they receive. The BOE encourages the community to reach out directly to their student’s teachers, principals or administrative team for questions and concerns that need an immediate and direct response back. Your voice is an important part of our BCSD community.
As a BCSD parent/community member please take time to review the “chain of command,” or where to begin the communication sequence regarding a problem or concern. Many parent and community questions are easily and completely answered by communicating directly with the educator in charge of the class or program. Each situation should first be addressed at whatever level the initial action was taken, with appeals moving on to the next level in the chain of command.


Email at:

Notification of Employment of a Retired Person