October is Fire Safety month, and on October 21 the BES Character Education Committee held fire safety and prevention community assemblies.

Volunteers from the fire departments of Grafton, Petersburgh, Berlin and Stephentown came to discuss “the sounds of fire safety.” The firefighters also answered students’ questions about how many years they have been volunteering, why and how they started, and what it means to them to be a volunteer firefighter in the community.

During the assembly, students and staff took the opportunity to thank their local firefighting volunteers for their dedication and courage in being firefighters.

BES thanks our firefighters for attending the assemblies: Sebastian Krahforst, Ben Krahforst, Jay Goyer, Michael Angley, David Corlew, Rik McClave, Jim Goyer, Dicky Snyder, Danny Ebert, and Frank Zwack. These volunteers provided the students at BES with important fire-prevention safety tips and talked about the important part they play in the Berlin Central School District’s community.


(l-r) Sebastian Krahforst, Ben Krahforst, Jay Goyer, Michael Angley, David Corlew, BES Principal Kent, Rik McClave, Jim Goyer, Dicky Snyder, Danny Ebert, Frank Zwack and Superintendent Dhara

“Community” is the theme for the Character Education Committee at BES this year. Each month Principal Kent, along with the Character Ed Committee, introduces BES students to a new theme that will help them understand and embrace the community around them.

October’s assemblies also included a presentation from the BES Ambassador program, a group of 15 third to fifth grade students, advised by Mrs. Peter-Hoen and Mrs. Ruebel.

Student Ambassadors Rachel Smith and Luke Turetsky gave a presentation to the students gathered for the third–fifth-grade assembly. The ambassadors talked about the “Socktober” drive, looking to inspire students to donate a pair of socks to their sock drive for the local homeless shelter.

The assemblies concluded with the Mountaineer Merits (details below) and, new this year, teacher nominated Classroom Community Member awards.

Classroom Community Members are students nominated for showing citizenship and being responsible, safe or respectful.


Community Classroom Members:

Emma Hunt, Jocelyn Webster, Brennan Berry, Janiyah McBride, Lucas Demers, Julia Turetsky, Demi Kormos, Mason MacNaughton, Peyton Carbonneau, Luke Stott, Shayana Peterson, Mackenzie Faulkner, Owen Mendoza, Madeline Clark,   Athena Peterson, and Abriella Milianta (missing from photo) Ryder Partridge.


Shelby Bleau, Noah Gardy, Mason MacNaughton, Daymien Bink, Garrett Dwyer, Chance Burdick, Addyson Niegoda and Caraline Webster (missing from photo) Emma Leblanc and Alaina Chittenden


BES Monthly Recognitions

Being a Mountaineer means being responsible, safe and respectful. Merits are given out throughout the month by BES staff and bus drivers to celebrate students who demonstrate these traits. These students are given merits that are deposited in the Mountaineer Merit container found in the main hallway.

At the assembly each month, Principal Kent draws 10 merit recipients, which includes both in-person and remote students (5 from kindergarten to second grade and 5 from third to fifth grade) who receive a prize.