Congratulations to the newest members of the Taconic Valley Chapter of the National Honor Society. Seventeen new members were inducted on March 26th; joining the 23 members who were inducted in 2023 and 2022.

The objective of the Taconic Valley Chapter of the National Honor Society is to create an enthusiasm for scholarship, to promote working leadership, to stimulate a desire to offer service, and to encourage the development of character in students of the Berlin Central School District.

The evening’s ceremony began with a Flag Salute led by junior Kyle Collen. Berlin’s NHS Advisor Ms. Karen Day, Berlin Middle High School Principal Mr. David Bernsley and Interim Superintendent Dr. Maureen Long helped to celebrate the students’ accomplishment during the event and induct the newest NHS members.

The five pillars: Scholarship, Leadership, Service, Citizenship and Character of the National Honor Society are represented by candles and were introduced and lit by NHS Seniors:

Scholarship – Jake Collen

Character – Lorelai Goodermote

Leadership – Aidan Van Dyk

Service – Katelyn Miller

“Thank you to the friends and family members that joined us to celebrate these scholars, artists, athletes, actors, musicians, writers, scientists, mathematicians, and so much more as a community,” said Ms. Day. “We could not be more proud.”





National Honor Society Current Members


Juliann Amuso

Jessica Bosso

Jake Collen

Josephine Cummings

Ashlee Evans

Lorelai Goodermote

Elizabeth Hunt

Rebecca Madsen

Katelyn Miller

Nikki Minkler

Lindsey Oswald

Ethan Saunders

Elaine Savaria

Abigail Thela

Aidan Van Dyk


Madison Bell

Kyle Collen

Katherine Dundas

Lillian Gardell

Sophia Hart

Curtis Hurd

Alexis Rifenburg

Alana Zuke


National Honor Society New Members


Tyler Hall

Joseph Schoeffel


Jake Bosso

Jayli Capasso

Jordan Harmon

Logan Healy

Nathanael Hendricks

Owen Lowry


Anthony deLaurentis

Tamaz Devine

Penelope Haas

Jaylynn Harmon

Valentina Popov

Norah Smerdon

Cameron Van Dyk

Lillian Von Schilgen

Charlie Young