On June 7th, Berlin High School held the National Honor Society (NHS), National Junior Honor Society (NJHS) and National Art Honor Society (NAHS) induction ceremonies. 

Thank you to Ms. Karen Day Berlin’s NHS and NJHS advisor and Mrs. Sam Colbert and Ms. Shannon DeCelle Berlin’s NAHS advisors for putting together a special evening to celebrate the Mountaineers.

Thank you to the BMHS Music Department’s Ms. Leslie Eliashuk and Mrs. Jessica Gould for organizing wonderful music performances throughout the evening.

The National Honor Society (NHS) is an organization for high schoolers that promotes leadership, service, character, and scholarship. There are over one million students participating in NHS activities today, in all 50 states and territories of the United States.

The National Honor Society started in 1921 by an association of principals. It was the first honor society created across the country. At almost 100 years old, the NHS is one of the most well-known educational and leadership groups. 

The National Junior Honor Society (NJHS) is the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding middle school students. More than just an honor roll, NJHS serves to honor those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of Scholarship, Leadership, Service, Citizenship and Character.

The Berlin National Honor Society and National Junior Honor Society is advised by Ms. Karen Day.

The five pillars: Scholarship, Leadership, Service, Citizenship and Character of the National Honor Society are represented by candles and were introduced and lit by:

Leadership – Bailey Catlin
Scholarship – Ashton Evans
Character – Brady Hills
Service – Daniel Hunt



National Junior Honor Society





National Junior Honor Society

Current Members

Haylee Jones

Alicia Minkler

Carley Ploof

New 2022 Inductees 

Seventh Grade

Nathan Goodermote

Allie Manchester

Grace Pelletier

Jesse Saunders

Emma Shorter

Elliot Smith

Eighth Grade

Kaylee Ferrarin

Valentina Popov

Cameron VanDyk

Lillian Von Schilgen

Charlie Young

National Honor Society



CURRENT MEMBERS – National Honor Society


Jesse Cameron

Bailey Catlin

Katherine deLaurentis

Sophie Ericson

Brady Hills

Daniel Hunt

Matthew Kluck

Liam Lowry

Brianna Reger

Macayla Roberts

Malorie Zink


Cadence Church

Nora Colin

Elsie Corbett 

Raymond Ericson

Sadie Giumarra

Tatum Kells

Hannah Mace

Samantha Rokjer

Riley Smith

Destiny Wagner


Jessica Bosso

Jake Collen

Josephine Cummings 

Ashlee Evans

Matthew Goebel

Lorelai Goodermote

Elizabeth Hunt

Rilynn Jones

McKenzie Krause

Rebecca Madsen

Katelyn Miller 

Nikki Minkler

Lindsey Oswald

Elaine Savaria

Ethan Saunders

Abigail Thela

Aidan VanDyk



New 2022 Inductees – National Honor Society


Angelo Capozzi

Daniel Rivera 

Sarah Roy


Gabrielle Bink 

Ashton Evans

Micayla Price




National Art Honor Society (NAHS)

The National Art Honor Society (NAHS) is designed specifically for high school students in grades 10-12. In 1978, the National Art Education Association began the NAHS program to inspire and recognize students who have shown an outstanding ability and interest in art. NAHS strives to aid members in attaining the highest standards in art scholarship, character, and service, and to bring art education to the attention of the school and community.

President, Daniel Rivera

Vice President, Brianna Reger

Secretary, Juliann Amuso

Treasurer, Brady Hills


Arts-Related Community Service Completed this Year: 

  • Making ceramic bowls for the fundraiser this evening for local food pantries.
  • Collection of supplies for Ukraine
  • NEW! HS Hallway Mural Work
  • Helping with Painting Sets for Drama Productions
  • Wellness Fair Face Painting
  • Bri (VP): Working with Grafton Town Board for Outdoor Mural
  • Attending the Elective Course Selection Fair to speak to 8th Graders about Art 
  • Presenting at a BOE meeting


National Art Honor Society

Juliann Amuso, Grade 10, Secretary

Jessica Bosso, Grade 10

Cadence church, Grade 11

Sophie Ericson, Grade 12, OVA Competitor 

Ashlee Evans, Grade 10

Matt Goebel, Grade 10

Madison Lenyk, Grade 10

Rebecca Moore, Grade 10, Honorable Mention for Questar III Art show 

Samantha Rokjer, Grade 11

Ethan Saunders, Grade 10, 

Annual HS Juried Regional Exhibition Participant 

Destiny Wagner, Grade 11

Vivian Whelan, Grade 10

Veteran National Art Honor Society Members: 

Brady Hills, Senior, Member Since 2019

Izzy Montanez, Senior, Member since 2019

Bri Reger, Senior, Member Since 2020

Danny Rivera, Junior, Member since 2020



Photo Album