Members of honor society

Back Row: Mr. Scannell, Mr. Toole, Makenna Jansen, Selena Bierwirth, Heather Hughes, Adison Colin, Kyle Fiske, Connor Hing, Craig Bortnick, Cody Hunt, Jackson Flowers, Mr. Christian, Mr. Morier and Mr. Mellor. Front Row: Mrs. Hayes, Melanie de Laurentis, Madison Scott, Erin Goodermote, Hayden Crandall, Cayla Hungerford, Greta Hermann and Mackenzie Dawes. Missing from photo Brooke DeShane

The Berlin Central High School held the 2018–2019 New York State Science Honor Society (NYSSHS) induction ceremony on June 4.

The NYS Science Honor Society was established in 1991 and is endorsed by the New York State Science Supervisors Association and the New York State Assembly. It was the first statewide honor society in the United States.

The society was founded to encourage students’ interest and understanding of science and careers related to the sciences. NYSSHS allows high-school students to be recognized for their achievements in science. This includes taking part in science-related activities and also being service-minded for the community.

The co-chairs and advisors of the Berlin Central School chapter are Mr. Matthew Christian and Mr. Steven Mellor. The current members: Adison Colin, Hayden Crandall, Melanie de Laurentis, Erin Goodermote, Greta Hermann, Connor Hing, Cayla Hungerford and Madison Scott.

The members had an opportunity to talk to the middle and high school science classes present at the inductions. The members told about the influence of science education and the impact it has had on their future plans.

Advisors sitting on benchThe nine new members inducted into the NYSSHS were seniors Craig Bortnick, Mackenzie Dawes, Brooke DeShane and Kyle Fiske, and juniors Selena Bierwirth, Jackson Flowers, Heather Hughes, Cody Hunt and Makenna Jansen.

The ceremony concluded with the presentation of a bench dedicated in honor of recently retired and esteemed Berlin Science teacher Audrey Vanderhoef. The bench will be part of a future outdoor science classroom. Congratulations to all the current and new members for their hard work.