On Thursday, May 18, the Berlin Middle/High School Art Department hosted its 1st Annual Night of the Arts! The evening consisted of the annual Student Art Exhibit of artwork from Grades 6-12, our chapter of National Art Honor Society’s (NAHS) Induction Ceremony, a Best in Show Competition, the raffling of student photography pieces and a guest speaker: BHS Class of 2016 graduate, Joey Sweener. Thank you to everyone who helped make this first annual event a huge success!

The newly inducted NAHS members are:

Bellard, Mckenzie

Brunswick, Janine

Chaykowski-Jewett, Haley

Crandall, Carly

Crandall, Parker

Christensen-Tripi, Samantha

Dawes, Mackenzie

deLaurentis, Melanie

Despart, Amanda

Douglas, Conner

Fiske, Kyle

Goodermote, Erin

Griswold, Michelle

Hicks, Haley

Hungerford, Cayla

Kells, Rylie

Madsen, Hailey

Matson, Katie

Mazzeo, Gabby

Mikit, Ilan

Moore, Samantha

Popov, Domnika

Salvo, Cora

Santon, Anthony

Scott, Madison

Sheridan, Hannah

Sprague, Abby

Stevens, Ashleigh

Walters, Miranda

Tripepi, Nick


Congratulations to the winners of the Best in Show Competition:


Large Format Photography Category WINNER: Kaylie Hayes for the crying child photo

Large Format Photography Category HONORABLE MENTION: Kaylie Hayes for the dog in the grass photo


Small Format Photography Category WINNER: Conner Douglas for the road photo

Small Format Photography Category HONORABLE MENTION: Mackenzie Dawes for the Italian plate photo


Drawing & Painting Category WINNER: Elysia Mars for the 4 cats in art history styles drawings

Drawing & Painting Category HONORABLE MENTION: Josh Hendricks for the fish drawing


Sculpture & Ceramics Category WINNER: Teresa Gonzalez for the cardboard owl

Sculpture & Ceramics Category HONORABLE MENTION: Taylor Meyer for the cardboard tree


Graphic Design Category WINNER: Alyssa Bierwirth with her magazine cover

Graphic Design Category HONORABLE MENTION: Chris Campbell with his record cover


The Two Budding Artists (Studio Art) Category WINNERS: Abby Scott with her gray monochromatic painting and Frankie Farano with her Van Gogh Google design


Most Creative Award RUNNER UP: Frankie Farano for the Van Gogh Google

Most Creative Award WINNER: Teresa Gonzalez for the cardboard owl


Best in Show Award RUNNER UP: Abby Scott for the gray portrait

Best in Show Award WINNER: Kaylie Hayes for the crying child photograph


Ms. Noles and Mrs. Wallace thank everyone for coming, and they are looking forward to sticking with this format next year!